Belgium is located in Western Europe. The total area of the country is 30,528 square kilometers, which includes 30,278 square kilometers of land area and 250 square kilometers of marine area. Belgium shares its borders with France, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. Geography of Belgium is characterized by diverse landscapes of the river valleys in the Ardennes, plains, lowlands and mountains. The length of the coast is about 66.5 km. Belgium is divided into three main geographical regions: the coastal plain in the north-west, the central plateau and the Ardennes hills.

Belgium is one of the smallest countries on the continent of Europe, with a population of slightly greater than 10 million people and a rich ethnic diversity. Among them, about 6 million live in Flanders, about 3.4 million live in Wallonia, and more than one million people live in Brussels, capital of Belgium. The most important cities of Belgium consist of Brussels - the capital, Antwerp - a major port in Belgium, Bruges, Charleroi, Ghent and Liege. The outstanding features of the Belgian attractions are the historic cities, castles and churches.

Belgium is known for temperate mild winters and rainy cloudy summers. The average temperature in the summer months is about +22 Celsius. The average winter temperature is about +4 Celsius. Rainfall is evenly distributed in Belgium during all year round. Winters in Belgium are characterized by frequent snowfalls. Sometimes there are floods in Belgium, mainly along rivers and coastal areas.

Belgium is not rich in natural resources. A small amount of natural resources that are in the subsurface area of the Belgium territory include coal, building materials, quartz sand and carbonate. Belgium has no wild animals that are unique to the country. Cattle and pigs are the most common animals in Belgium. Most of the country’s wildlife is concentrated in the Eifel region in the Ardennes, which is home to endangered species of wood grouses, lynxes, wild cats and amphibians.