China occupies a large territory in central and eastern Asia. The area of the country is about 9.6 million square kilometers, and it ranks third in the world after Russia (17.08 million) and Canada (9.98 million). China is bordered by Korea in the north-east; Russia and Mongolia in the north; Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan in the west; Afghanistan, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan and India in the south-west; and by Burma, Laos and Vietnam in the south. Taiwan and the tropical island of Hainan are the largest of more than 5.000 islands of the country. The highest point of China is the peak of Mount Everest (Qomolangma) (8,848 meters), and the lowest is the Turfan Depression (154 meters below sea level).

China is washed by Bohai, Yellow, East China and South China seas. The main rivers of the country are the Yangtze and the Yellow River. The length of the first is about 6,300 km, and the length of the second, according to various sources, ranges from 4670 to 5464 kilometers.

China consists of 23 provinces, 5 autonomous regions, 4 municipalities under the central government (Beijing, Shanghai, Tianjin and Chongqing), and 2 special administrative regions - Hong Kong and Macau. The country's capital is the city of Beijing. Taiwan is a province of China, which is a de facto independent state. National language is Chinese (Han).