France is located in Western Europe. It refers to the West European countries and its land area ranks first among all countries in the region. France includes Corsica - the fourth largest island in the Mediterranean Sea.

France is the largest country in Western Europe with an area of 551 square kilometers. The land area is about 545 square kilometers.

The country is bordered by eight European countries: Belgium (border length 620 km), Italy (488 km), Spain (623 km), Germany (451 km), Switzerland (573 km), Andorra (56 km), Monaco (4.4 km ), Luxembourg (73 km). In the east France is washed by the Mediterranean Sea and in the west by the Atlantic Ocean (Bay of Biscay and the English Channel).

Central France includes 22 areas and four island territories: Martinique, Guadeloupe, Guyana, and Reunion – which are inhabited by more than 2 million people. In general France is home to about 64 million people.

France is located in the western part of Europe. Territory of France has a great geographical diversity. In the north and west of the country there are vast plains and lowlands, which make up 2/3 of the territory. Jura, the Vosges, the Massif Central, the Alps, the Pyrenees and the Ardennes are very ancient mountain chains forming the ridge along the eastern part of the country.

Rivers in France are relatively small; most of them flow through the western part of the country. For example: Yonne (takes a start in the mountains of Morvan), Sena (length - 776 km), Oise (length - 302 km), Marne (length - 525 km) are the rivers of Atlantic basin. Saone and Rhone flow into the Mediterranean Sea and the River Rhine flows north and falls into the North Sea. The longest river of France is Loire (1012 km), which flows into the Atlantic Ocean.