The United States of America is the fourth largest country in the world (after Russia, Canada and China). USA occupies the southern part of North America, stretching from the Pacific Ocean (in the west) and to the Atlantic Ocean (in the east); it includes Alaska in the north and Hawaii in the Pacific Ocean. The country occupies an area of 9,518,900 square kilometers. USA borders with Canada in the north and Mexico in the south, and also has a maritime cordon with Russia.

USA is divided into 50 states and the Federal District of Columbia. The population of the country is about 309 million.

Along the western part of the U.S., Cordillera mountains are stretched (its highest peak - Mount McKinley (6193 m), located on the territory of Alaska). Through the territory of the U.S. flow a lot of waterways such as Mississippi, Missouri, Colorado, and Columbia. The Great Lakes on the border with Canada are the largest and deepest in the United States (Superior, Huron, Michigan, Erie and Ontario); the total area overpasses 245,000 square kilometers, the water volume is of 22 thousand cubic kilometers.

Climate of the country. USA covers a large area from north to south, just because of this, there are almost all climatic zones: from tropical climates - in the south of Florida, to the Arctic in Alaska. The climate of the central part of the country is continental, and in the south is subtropical.

The largest cities are New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Philadelphia, Detroit, San Francisco and others.